Antibiotics? Naw! Try Oil of Oregano instead!

Oil of Oregano is a MUST HAVE for every single family. It is documented in several medical studies as having the ability to rival the strength of vancomyacin, which one of the strongest antibiotics available. Hospitals regularly give vancomyacin intravenously when oral antibiotics fail. (pubmed.org)  As an added bonus, unlike traditionally used medical antibiotics, Oil of Oregano doesn’t run the risk of bacteria learning how to defend itself against it. (No, resistance issues present themselves in case studies, which is why Big Pharma is so interested in breaking it down to patent it.) Oil of Oregano will be here, fully functional, even when in a few more years as they predict, antibiotics will no longer be effective.

When penicillin was first created, it was known even then that antibiotics, no matter how they were altered had a life span of only several decades. In order to make it last as long as possible doctors were urged to not over prescribe or allow patients to use them improperly (such as when people stop using them before the bacteria is wiped out.) And so, in reading the warnings in medical journals, it has become clear to me from countless studies that our human marriage with antibiotics will be coming to a close shortly. With the rise of MRSA, we can see this already happening. This is why, the absolute RULE for my family is that unless it is a life or death matter, we will refuse antibiotics.

Enter: Medicinal oils such as oregano, thyme and clove. Each of these oils have tremendous bacteria killing capabilities. They kill bacteria in an entirely different way. So, even if the body still has remaining bacteria in it, that bacteria has not been able to “learn” how to mutate to overcome these oils. Each of these oils can be taken internally in a caplet. I use clove on my skin, because it smells nice. I use oil of oregano internally because it has been studied very extensively and seems to be the strongest and most effective of these powerful herbal oils.

WARNINGS:

  • All of these oils need to be diluted, because they can cause irritation if they are not diluted. I generally dilute them in a ratio of 1:4 (medicinal oil: carrier oil.) Planetary Herbals is the Oil of Oregano I prefer to use in a caplet that has the right percentage of the active ingredient carvacrol.
  • Do not use Oil of Oregano if you are pregnant simply because it has not been studied extensively with pregnancy. Oil of Oregano is used in hormonally unhealthy women to bring about a healthy period, so one concern is that it could cause bleeding. It’s not a big concern, but while they study it further, it would be best to use another natural remedy, perhaps a homeopathic one.
  • Do not use Oil of Oregano is you are on any medicinal blood thinners because it naturally thins your blood to a healthy level. It is not believed to be counter-indicated with blood thinners, but just in case, do me a favor and avoid it.
  • I’m not a doctor. No one at Everything Birth is a doctor. While I do guarantee that I have done extensive research in respectable medical journals (as opposed to hippie herbal medicine websites) and wholeheartedly believe everything I’ve written, it’s imperative for the purpose of legality that I mention that this should not be considered “professional” medical advice.

These are the only warnings you will need to be aware of. (Verses the pages and pages of warnings in almost every single bag you pick up from the pharmacy.) You can learn more on your own by using the term carvacrol (Oil of Oregano) in a search at http://www.pubmed.org.

Another powerful antibiotic to look into is colloidal silver because this can be harmlessly sprayed in even an infant’s nasal passage, mouth, ear canal, vaginal area or eyes.

For what it’s worth, each of these natural remedies also kills viruses and fungi… so it eliminates the need for “cultures” to find the right medicine. This really helps to take the guess work out of helping my family get healthy and avoids the wait time for culture tests which are absolutely crucial to responsible medicine when dealing with traditional methods of killing bacteria and viruses. It is highly irresponsible for a doctor to prescribe an antibiotic without a culture. I realize they do it all the time, so, don’t forget to thank them for the MRSA in our communities the next time you catch them doing this.

If you’re hesitant to take my word for it since I’m just a blogger, I don’t blame you. Do me a favor though, meet me half-way. Have a bottle of Oil of Oregano on hand at all times. The next time you’re sick, take one caplet of oil of oregano three times a day while you wait for the doctor to responsibly order a culture (about a day or so.) If you still don’t feel better by the time the doctor has your results, feel free to responsibly use your antibiotics (while they’re still effective that is.)

-Dawn Papple

8 Responses

  1. our 18 year old daughter is going to have all 4 of her wisdom teeth extracted .In your opinion would it be benificial to give her oil of oregano as a antibiotic replacement ? We WILL NOT be using any over the counter or perscribed drug for her after care treatment. any advice would be helpful.
    Thanks teresa

  2. Is there any risk of oil of oregano killing off “good” bacteria as well as “bad” and leading to candida overgrowth or damaging the lining of one’s intestine? This is my primary concern with “traditional” antibiotics.

  3. I’m sorry but I have to point this out. If oregano oil kills off bacteria (or any microorganism for that matter, including fungi), then it is by definition an antibiotic— a substance that can either kill or inhibit the growth of microorganisms. Oregano oil is then in the same category as penicillin, and has the same downfalls, including possible bacterial resistance. Secondly, the only difference between a “natural” antibiotic and a prescribed one is that the prescribed ones have regulated concentrations and doses for specific ailments based on study. Prescription medicine will also have removed other chemicals from the source (plants or fungi usually) that aren’t needed or may be harmful. Third and final, microorganisms can become immune to ANY kind of antibiotic. MRSA might have a weakness for oregano oil or it might not, but I can tell you that if you overuse it, just like any other antibiotic, sooner or late it will definitely be immune.

    • Maria, I’m a little late coming in here, but I wanted to comment about tolerance to oil of oregano. I’ve successfully used wild oil of oregano, 80% carvacrol for 7 years on strep, MRSA, tooth infection, flu, cold, and ear infection. Each time I have used the oregano, I haven’t found myself hitting a brick wall yet. It has always cleared it up within 24 hours to a week, depending on what I am fighting. The response is incredible.

      I caught MRSA from a Mc Donald’s play place one year on my lower leg. I went through 3 doctors and 8 different antibiotics, and could never clear up the MRSA. I was put on clindamycin for a month straight. I was on IV vanco for 2 weeks. NOTHING would make it go away completely. UNTIL a doctor in Mexico said “Oil of Oregano, get it in you and on you NOW”. I thought, Uh huh, yeah… this witch doctor and his herbs will do me little good. I had zero knowledge of anything outside of the mainstream and I totally laughed in that doctor’s face until my husband and best friend convinced me to at least try it.

      We went to a pharmacy while there and picked up what looked to be some homemade type of bottle with a plain white sticker saying oregano oil. I started it that evening, internally and externally and I swear that within the week, it was GONE. If anyone would have tried to tell me this bottle of stuff would heal me I simply would not believe it.

      Border patrol confiscated that oil when I came back home, so I searched high and low for something like it. I chose whatever I thought would be the best and continued two more weeks of treatment. This was 7 years ago, and the MRSA has never returned.

      I love telling my story, because it has saved a lot of other people since. And I do love when people contact me and tell me of their success.

      OOO IS an antibiotic but it is not the same as Pen, Keflex, Cleocin, etc. I have yet to read any material that suggests a tolerance to OOO, but if it is out there, I’d like to see it for my own personal knowledge.

      If there is a tolerance to it, it has never existed for me, as I have treated repeat infections with it time and again. I can get rid of strep in a day. Oh yes… even had a doctor once tell me I was “full of it”. I had confirmed strep test in his office. Went back in 3 days for retest and it was GONE. He shook his head and said, “That omnicef works wonders” I said, “No, it was oil of oregano!”. Doctors do not like for people to take power over their bodies, or they would not make as much money. I digress…

      I have also seen goldenseal work repeatedly but it has no where the power or potency of oregano.

      • I’m with you! When you use the “alternatives” as your FIRST LINE OF DEFENSE–you get good results, every time. My worst result was from taking too much and causing a die-off that was faster than my body could get rid of the dead cells–Herxheimer reaction. THAT wasn’t fun, but plenty of water flushed the system within a few hours and I was up and running again. Lesson learned. MORE is not always better!

  4. You indicate oil of oregano is an anti bacterial. Am I correct, that it is also an effective anti-viral?
    I frist learned abuot oil of oregano about 10 years ago when I had Shingles. They were on my face and the back of my neck. They were both itchy and painful. A massage therapist suggested I try the oil of oregano. I purchased the oil itself and used it both internally, (mixed with a glass of water) and externally (as a salve rubbed on the shingles). The direct contact between shingle and oil did cause stinging, but afterwards the itching stopped. I did have postherpetic neuralgia and am convinced it cleared up sooner than expected, based on all my research, thanks to the oil of oregano.
    I keep it on hand.

    • I realize you wrote this some time ago, but yes, it is antiviral, as well–the medical research says. I’ve read of people using it even for the viruses in the herpes family…whether cold sore or other type. The research is out there! And the users say it works for their virus issues.

  5. I’m a believer in the power of all things herbal and essential oil. Oil of Oregano, Olive leaf extract, frankincense, myrrh, sage…turmeric, goldenseal, echinacea–lemon, orange, thyme, peppermint–and many others.

    We live in a country where antibiotics are in the food supply, in the medicine cabinet…and we continue to get sick.

    Since I got my family off of foods known to contain antibiotics and got antibiotics out of the medicine cabinet, we have done so much better. We do use echinacea in flu season. We also use goldenseal and myrrh. If someone allows the bug to settle in, we add cayenne pepper as a catalyst and it is gone within hours.

    The essential oils of frankincense, cloves, lavender, cinnamon–blends called “Thieves”, another called “R.C.”, Pan Away and Deep Relief go with me everywhere I go. Why? I have done extensive research and tested them on myself and my family and KNOW these things work–and work rapidly.

    (When you have an anaphylactic schlock reaction to an antibiotic, as I did, — and discover that you have become sensitive to just about every other medication as a result, you find “alternative” remedies rather quickly.)

    I can honestly say, I have NEVER had a yeast overgrowth or had to take a yogurt or probiotic supplement after taking ANY antibiotic herb or essential oil–and I started on the herb route 40 years ago, and the essential oil route about 12 years ago.

    RC will totally stop an asthma attack within 15 minutes (if it’s just starting, it takes a lot less time.) It keeps me out of the ER with a child who is having difficulty breathing and keeps her off the puffer and albuterol treatments. Garlic rubbed on the feet — or garlic powder in the socks — cold is gone!

    I had a molar extracted around 4pm today. I put water then lemon oil (2 drops) on the gauze when I changed it the first two times. The 3rd time I put about 1/8 tsp of 90,000 SU cayenne on it and left it for about 15 minutes. YES, it ‘stung’, but–I was only using “thieves” as my pain reliever–so the cayenne gave me added pain relief!! Bleeding totally stopped. I let cool water with sea salt run through my mouth to rinse out all of the cayenne. It is now 6 hours later. The swelling is minimal, the hole is partially closed.

    I’ve taken my Oregano oil capsule and one turmeric for inflammation and any bacteria that might decide to pop up since an abscess in the area is still healing.

    Sorry for the long post, but I felt someone else who USES these remedies and uses NO Rx meds other than Benadryl if there is a life-threatening emergency (a couple of my young children and I are insect/bee sting sensitive–and I have an allergy to some tree nuts/seafood.)

    My dentist actually liked that I swabbed on Thieves before my procedure and commented how good it worked bc I barely felt the novocaine–and the tooth was almost out when he realized I was in pain while he was pulling. If I had realized it would only take 10 more seconds, I wouldn’t have agreed to a bit more numbing. HEY! I’d never tried ONLY essential oils for an extraction before! Now I know how much I need to use—if I have another one, I’m good! He also agreed to let me try oil pulling with coconut oil when this heals to see if we can save the other tooth, rather than do a root canal. (I DO NOT WANT ANOTHER OF THOSE — EVER! Crown broke, tooth broke…now I have to extract that tooth one day. Some say oil pulling works…we’re going to see.)

    You have to try them and see what works for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

